Continuing Professional Development (CPD) is how doctors update their knowledge and skills throughout their working lives. This includes all elements of good medical practice - clinical and non-clinical. 

CPD incorporates Continuing Medical Education (CME) as well as the professional, practical, interpersonal, management as well as the life skills needed by doctors across all aspects of their day-to-day practice.

Within Professional Competence there are 4 CPD categories:

Doctors must record a minimum of 40 CPD credits across each Professional Competence Year (May to April)

In addition, one Audit/Quality Improvement project is required each year

Educational activities that attract CPD should be designed to incorporate at least one of the 8 Domains of Good Professional Practice


What are the 8 Domains of Good Professional Practice

What you need to know about Audit/Quality Improvement

Evidence for CPD

How to add CPD to your ePortfolio